top of page
Asset 4.png

Christ Church Cathedral | 8pm

Mark Simpson, clarinet | Juliette Roos, violin | Joseph Havlat, piano | Eliza Millett, cello | Sebastian Black, piano*


Péter Eötvös


In memory of Péter Eötvös (1944-2024)

Mark Simpson


Olivier Messiaen

Quatuor pour la fin du temps 

quartet for the end of time (1).png

To close our festival, we return to a work close to Smorgaschord’s heart. It was, after all, with Messiaen’s transcendental Quartet for the End of Time that we started our Smorgaschord journey back in 2021.


For this performance, we are thrilled to have an absolutely stellar line up with some of the most exciting musicians in the UK. To precede, Mark Simpson’s Ariel with the composer himself playing quartet. The concert opens with a short memorial to the great Hungarian composer, conductor and teacher Péter Eötvös, who died in March. 

Where:  Christ Church Cathedral | Oxford

When: 22 June | 8pm

Duration: 60 minutes

Tickets: £18 | Students £6 | Festival Pass £45

bottom of page